13. Unlucky 

Riots in Baltimore

An earthquake in Nepal

I don’t know how the world keeps spinning.

I don’t want to say that these things should put our lives in perspective. That we should count our blessings we weren’t born black or on a hillside overshadowed by Everest.  Let’s not cheapen what’s happened by trying to relate it to our own lives.

I’m not an expert on civil rights or disaster relief; I have nothing new or unique to add to the conversation. But I did read two things about the riots in Baltimore that have helped me see it’s about more than burning cars. And this, regarding Nepal and lessons learned in the aftermath of the earthquake in Haiti.

I don’t believe anymore that things happen for a reason. Freddie Gray should not have been injured and left to die in police custody. Six thousand (and counting) Nepalese men women and children should not have died trapped under rubble. Where are their reasons?

Bad things happen. But I don’t want to stop there. I don’t want to accept that. But I also don’t want to post a link soliciting for donations to either cause. Because while we can put our money where our mouth is, money can’t change minds.

All I know is, black lives matter, poor lives matter. All lives matter.

13. Unlucky 

Leave a Reply

